Occupational Health & Safety Management Systems

ISO 45001:2018

Let’s get started

ISO 45001:2018 Occupational Health and Safety Management Systems

Published in March 2018, this Standard replaces OHSAS 18001:2007 and AS/NZS 4801:2001.

Why has the Standard been developed and what are the changes?

The Standard is designed to help companies and organizations around the world ensure the health and safety of the people who work for them. It is aligned with ISO 9001 (Quality Management), ISO 14001 (Environmental Management) and builds on OHSAS 18001 what will ensure an easy alignment into the organisation’s overall management processes and allow a straightforward integration with the requirements of the other ISO Management System Standards.
This Standard is all about providing a framework for managing OHS risks and opportunities, eliminating hazards and minimising OHS risks by taking an effective preventive action, with an outcome to prevent work related injury and ill health to workers and to provide safe and healthy workplaces.

Implementation of the ISO 45001:2008 Standard will provide a systematic approach to enable an organisation to manage its OHS risk and improve its OHS performance. The standard emphasises on the responsibilities of those in authority and highlights the necessity of everyone in the workplace to participate.

What does this mean for your business?

ISO 45001:2018 is the replacement to OHSAS 18001:2007 and AS/NZS 4801:2001.

If your business is already certified to OHSAS 18001 and/or AS/NZS 4801, you have three years to upgrade your business to the new requirements, and then go through a transition audit to update your Certification to the new Standard.

If your business hasn’t been certified to OHSAS 18001 and/or AS/NZS 4801 yet, start working towards the requirements of this new Standard. There’s no need to reference the old Standard.

What are the benefits of
this Standard for your business?

ISO 45001:2018


Systematic reduction or elimination of safety risks

ISO 45001:2018


Less accidents or incidents means less downtime

ISO 45001:2018


Your Safety Certification could be the point of difference that wins you your next contract

ISO 45001:2018


Now that you qualify to tender for work requiring Certification to the Safety Standard as a pre-requisite

ISO 45001:2018


When Certification is achieved

ISO 45001:2018


Certification requirements demonstrate workers are competent to conduct the tasks they’re performing and legal and regulatory requirements are being met and monitored

What types of businesses will benefit from Certification to the ISO 45001 Standard?

All businesses can benefit from implementation of the ISO 45001:2018 Standard. Many businesses will also benefit from Certification to the Standard.


  • Proves to the outside world that your organisation is serious about customer satisfaction;
  • Is sometimes the only point of difference against your closest competition when bidding for work; and
  • Can be a contractual requirement imposed by your client/s;
  • Achieves a competitive advantage, trust of customers & stakeholders and recognition as an industry leader.

ISO 45001:2018

How the Certification Process Works

Firstly, we’ll work with you to determine exactly which Standards and Certifications are right for your business, what you want to achieve out of the process for your business and identify any deadlines you need to achieve Certifications by. This is your chance to get all your questions answered!

Then we’ll go through with you what you already have in place and how effective you think it is, and what you’d like to see change. Depending on what you already have, the next step might be a Gap Analysis against the requirements of the Standard – this will give us a to-do list of what needs to be done before commencing the formal Certification process.

When it’s time for your Certification Audit, it’s conducted in two stages:

Stage 1 (Readiness Review) is a full review of your business processes and documented information to ensure all requirements of the Standard (relevant to your business) have been addressed.

Stage 2 (Certification Audit) is an assessment conducted at your office (and project sites, if applicable) to ensure that you actually do what your processes and documented information say you do.

All Certifications run on a three-year cycle, usually with audits 12 months apart, so, this initial audit process is then followed by:

Year 2: Surveillance Audit

Year 3: Surveillance Audit

Then we start again with a Triennial Audit, followed by two annual Surveillance Audits, and the cycle continues…

ISO 45001:2018

How We Can Help

Your personal Consultant gets to know you, your business, and what you need to achieve out of your systems and your Certifications.

We take care of the whole process for you, answer all your questions and adjust our services to suit your resources and your individual business needs. We’ll be there for you to coach you through the preparation, through the audits and ongoing.

We assist in selecting your Conformity Assessment Body to ensure they have the appropriate knowledge of your industry to ensure you achieve the certification.

We understand that every business is unique – we want this to be a meaningful and value-adding process for you.

Your next step

Call us now on 1300-614-007 to get started.

We’re happy to answer any questions you might have, or
provide an obligation-free consultation.

Let’s Get Started